Elected Officials

Supervisor

Terry Darraugh
T.Darraugh@shieldstownship.com

The Supervisor, as the executive officer of the Township, manages its day-to-day operations and is independently responsible for administering the General Assistance Program. The Supervisor oversees all the programs of the Township and conducts the monthly meetings of the Board of Trustees. The Supervisor is a voting member of the Board.

The Supervisor's office staff is trained to assist with all of the programs the office administers.

Assessor

Scott Helton
shelton@shldassessor.org

The Township Assessor is an elected position that oversees the property assessment within the Township. The Assessor’s Office staff is responsible for establishing the market value on all parcels of real estate on an annual basis. The assessed value is used to determine each taxpayer's share of the tax burden. Fairness and equity are applied to all assessments to ensure fair distribution of taxes.

Highway Commissioner

Scott V. Anderson
svanderson@shieldstownship.com

The Township Highway Commissioner is elected to oversee the Township Highway District, which cares for all the roads in the unincorporated areas of the Township.

In many respects, the Shields Township Road District is an independent government. Though the Township Board of Trustees certifies the Highway Department’s levy, the Highway Department operates and provides its services separately.

Clerk

Joy Gayter
jgayter@shieldstownship.com

The Township Clerk keeps the official records of the Township, takes minutes of all Township Board meetings, and helps to disseminate information about Township meetings, budgets, and activities.

The clerk's office also serves certain election-related functions, including serving as the distribution point for election materials from the County Clerk for precinct election judges.

Trustees

Kathy Blahunka
kblahunka@shieldstownship.com

William Brown
wbrown@shieldstownship.com

Matt Garrity
mgarrity@shieldstownship.com

Kristin Strom
kstrom@shieldstownship.com

The Shields Township Board consists of the Supervisor and four Trustees, elected at large. Together, these five voting members establish Township policy, approve bill payments, and certify tax levies. The Supervisor, as the executive officer, manages the day-to-day operations of the Township and is independently responsible for administering the General Assistance Program. All Township officials are elected to four-year terms.